Whois mixing it up
I got an e-mail from one of the regulars, about doobu.com.
He wasn’t 100% sure it was owned by the Bulgarians. Looking at the link for the whois info, I understand why. It’s different from what I get in Sam Spade.
In Sam Spade, the registrant is Jane Phill, which is a dead giveaway that the owner is the Bulgarians.
When you check it on whois.sc, all you see is that the registrar is Moniker. Apart from that you’d have to know that the e-mail address is typical of the Bulgarians, because the registrant is the same as the administrative contact.
I have been battling spammers for a long time on my weblog, and now have a list of some ~15 referers, ~400 IP addresses, and ~10 UA strings that are repeatedly used by spammers. Doobu.com is one that has been spamming me within the last couple of days, I have it on my list. IF you want my entire list, let me know, and I will email you a copy of the list.
I’d love the list.
It’s possible your list contains the same stuff we’ve seen before, though.
Doobu is known to us, for instance.
You can find my e-mail address on the About Me page.
Hi Elizabeth,
Thank God for your website, it has litteraly kept me sane through a massive comment and referral spamming. I think I’ve gathered as much with your information and putting the pieces together that it is the bulgarian duo. They just don’t give up. Even tough there’s little point for them to continue due to effective spamfilters and blocking. The ever changing URL-referals which are’nt too hard to figure out.