<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Bots that cheat</title>
	<atom:link href="http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/</link>
	<description>writes on spam and admin issues</description>
	<pubDate>Wed, 10 Mar 2010 01:58:08 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.7</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: id systems</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-493217</link>
		<dc:creator>id systems</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 23 Sep 2008 15:56:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-493217</guid>
		<description>TheNerd,  I dont really know if it's anything worth bragging about.  I mean, every single blog's referrer report looks like this one.  Not really uncommon.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>TheNerd,  I dont really know if it&#8217;s anything worth bragging about.  I mean, every single blog&#8217;s referrer report looks like this one.  Not really uncommon.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Rick</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-61960</link>
		<dc:creator>Rick</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 14 Nov 2006 00:30:19 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-61960</guid>
		<description>Here is the latest signature of the Spambot for www.fast-search-engine.com

Host: 65.75.152.120
	

    *  

	
/
	Http Code: 200 	Date: Nov 13 10:16:01 	Http Version: HTTP/1.1 	Size in Bytes: 4727
	Referer: http://www.fast-search-engine.com/
	Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1) 

They are now using ^65.75.
I've alos blocked all of the IP's that belong to the company that hosts www.fast-search-engine.com as they are well-known for Spam Bots</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Here is the latest signature of the Spambot for <a href="http://www.fast-search-engine.com" rel="nofollow">http://www.fast-search-engine.com</a></p>
<p>Host: 65.75.152.120</p>
<p>    *  </p>
<p>/<br />
	Http Code: 200 	Date: Nov 13 10:16:01 	Http Version: HTTP/1.1 	Size in Bytes: 4727<br />
	Referer: <a href="http://www.fast-search-engine.com/" rel="nofollow">http://www.fast-search-engine.com/</a><br />
	Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1) </p>
<p>They are now using ^65.75.<br />
I&#8217;ve alos blocked all of the IP&#8217;s that belong to the company that hosts <a href="http://www.fast-search-engine.com" rel="nofollow">http://www.fast-search-engine.com</a> as they are well-known for Spam Bots</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Dirk</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-32781</link>
		<dc:creator>Dirk</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 18 Aug 2006 16:49:14 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-32781</guid>
		<description>Brandimensions call themselves "an online brand protection company" (direct quote from an email I received). So I assume their bot is spidering pages for trademark violation and similar things.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Brandimensions call themselves &#8220;an online brand protection company&#8221; (direct quote from an email I received). So I assume their bot is spidering pages for trademark violation and similar things.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Patti</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-32630</link>
		<dc:creator>Patti</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 17 Aug 2006 22:16:12 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-32630</guid>
		<description>What the heck is all this about?  I found this 'brandimentions' thing in my stats page on my personal blog site on spaces.live.com.  I don't get it...call me stupid if you want but I'm just wondering what it all is?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>What the heck is all this about?  I found this &#8216;brandimentions&#8217; thing in my stats page on my personal blog site on spaces.live.com.  I don&#8217;t get it&#8230;call me stupid if you want but I&#8217;m just wondering what it all is?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Kevin</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-28431</link>
		<dc:creator>Kevin</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 30 Jul 2006 04:10:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-28431</guid>
		<description>I agree with the administrator of this site.  Spam comments on blogs are one of the biggest problems, and any help you give on other your blog for user agents helps out all web masters.  Thanks for the info.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I agree with the administrator of this site.  Spam comments on blogs are one of the biggest problems, and any help you give on other your blog for user agents helps out all web masters.  Thanks for the info.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Damn Spam! - More stupid bots: Exabot and NG/2.0</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-2630</link>
		<dc:creator>Damn Spam! - More stupid bots: Exabot and NG/2.0</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 20 Jan 2006 18:40:48 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-2630</guid>
		<description>[...] ct).Sorry guys, that's not how this works. Go searching for a clue ...P.S. Ann Elisabeth wasn't too happy with a previous incarnation of that bot either.                              [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] ct).</p>
<p>Sorry guys, that&#8217;s not how this works. Go searching for a clue &#8230;P.S. Ann Elisabeth wasn&#8217;t too happy with a previous incarnation of that bot either.                              [...]</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Administrator</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-578</link>
		<dc:creator>Administrator</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 05 May 2005 11:47:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-578</guid>
		<description>You're wrong.

Many of these sites will never have a link to my site, and when they do, then THAT link is what's legitimate in my logs, not the link to the site itself.

The user agent field of a bot should contain the URL of the site, but maybe shortened. The referer field of a bot should be blank.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>You&#8217;re wrong.</p>
<p>Many of these sites will never have a link to my site, and when they do, then THAT link is what&#8217;s legitimate in my logs, not the link to the site itself.</p>
<p>The user agent field of a bot should contain the URL of the site, but maybe shortened. The referer field of a bot should be blank.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: ThaNerd</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-577</link>
		<dc:creator>ThaNerd</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 05 May 2005 11:31:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://spamhuntress.com/2005/04/01/bots-that-cheat/#comment-577</guid>
		<description>That's an affair of the way you think of it. The referer is useful in the way to discover which websites have a link to yours. And if the bot comes and index your site, then the site of the people running the bot will, soon or yet, have a link to yours. Thus it is somewhat legitimate.

See, i don't see the point of making public the statistics of your website. Statistics are useful for the admin! That's ALL. I consider the fact of givin access to your site as childish as bragging about your car or income or number of female partners. "See the size of my referer-spam list? Do you see my big stats?"

User Agent string is meant to be the name of a bot, and it's version. It should NOT provide information out of that. As a result, when you see a bot, out of googling the useragent, how could you know where the information it gathers will be published? That's how the Referer is useful.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>That&#8217;s an affair of the way you think of it. The referer is useful in the way to discover which websites have a link to yours. And if the bot comes and index your site, then the site of the people running the bot will, soon or yet, have a link to yours. Thus it is somewhat legitimate.</p>
<p>See, i don&#8217;t see the point of making public the statistics of your website. Statistics are useful for the admin! That&#8217;s ALL. I consider the fact of givin access to your site as childish as bragging about your car or income or number of female partners. &#8220;See the size of my referer-spam list? Do you see my big stats?&#8221;</p>
<p>User Agent string is meant to be the name of a bot, and it&#8217;s version. It should NOT provide information out of that. As a result, when you see a bot, out of googling the useragent, how could you know where the information it gathers will be published? That&#8217;s how the Referer is useful.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
