No more anonymous
I was chasing a referrer spammer I’d never seen before. Looked like he was spamming from home:
IP address: 82.46.90.238
82-46-90-238.cable.ubr01.chap.blueyonder.co.uk
He’s been spamming loans and porn. I’ll keep the porn URL’s to myself, but here’s a loan site he’s been spamming:
loanfinderuk.com
Always using anonymous whois services. But I found a .us domain, and when I found whois info that appeared more legit, I had something in the back of my mind:
I bet the spammer never intended for that info to become public:
Registrant Name: elevated enterprises
Registrant Address1: elevated house
Registrant Address2: 33 warden road
Registrant City: bristol
Registrant Postal Code: bs3 1bu
Registrant Country: Great Britain (UK)
Registrant Country Code: GB
Registrant Phone Number: +1.07787572089
Registrant Email: d.rods@eidosnet.co.uk
With some digging, I found an address next door, 31 Warden Road. That part of town is called Bedminster.
One of the affiliate ID’s (eh, something like that, anyway) I found in the source of one of his sites was this one: djdrrods. Yuk, the boy’s been busy! Search google to see what I mean.
By checking out a server he had 28 domains on, I found another version of his contact info (.us domains again):
Registrant Name: m rodwell
Registrant Address1: 15 firework close
Registrant City: bristol
Registrant State/Province: s glos
Registrant Postal Code: bs15 4lt
Registrant Country: Great Britain (UK)
Registrant Country Code: GB
Registrant Phone Number: +1.1173305048
Registrant Email: me@drods.com
The domain he got his e-mail address from belongs to a webdesign firm. And I also found referrer spam for a directory on that domain.
owner: Patrick Hart
organization: Elevation
email: admin at elevationmedia dot com
address: 342-344 Two mile hill rd
address: Kingswood
city: Bristol
postal-code: BS15 1AJ
country: GB
phone: +44 117 9497720
Update
I’ve been wondering about who the actual offender was. What I’ve found since, is that the owner Patrick Hart also runs an organization working with troubled teens
Jon Stokes is the manager of a band, that has Patrick Hart as the spokesman.
Rods or Dj Drods is also a member. I believe this guy is the spammer. Here are photos of him and the others.
There is reason to believe Patrick Hart knew nothing about the spamming, and is concerned about it. He has something to protect, after all.
Second Update
I found the name Mikie Rods on a list of ’suppliers’ on a page owned by Hostmaster, Adultbouncer, which I’ve seen among the sites the spammer was affiliated with. When I first saw that site, I concluded he had a subdomain, but didn’t own the domain itself. The subdomain was most likely an affiliate deal of some sort. The website I found is not responding right now, but the Google cache I accessed was last updated April 21.
April 22nd, 2005 at 7:56 am
[…] uo; Massive trackback run Photo of a spammer Remember the referrer spammer I talked about two days ago? Meet Rods aka Dj Drods […]
August 30th, 2005 at 7:40 am
[…] , changed the name of the software and eventually sold it. Old stories about Mikie Rods: No more anonymous Photo of a spammer This entry was posted […]