Block Alestra - again

I’ve noticed that the Zaharievs (Bulgarians) really like the Alestra proxies. Blocking those would probably cut down on referrer spam from them to a degree.

Ban these, and please tell me if there are others:

148.244.150.52 (new October 2005)
148.244.150.58
148.244.150.57
207.248.240.119

11 Responses to “Block Alestra - again”

  1. Another Alestra proxy IP: 207.248.240.118

  2. ThaNerd says:

    I received spams from other IPs for this domain:
    148.244.150.52,
    207.248.240.118
    And of course the 3 IPs you spotted.

    Being an open proxy, chances are that what i will report below does not come from the same host, but i received this very lame request (which lead the spammer to a 404):
    POST /cgi-bin/formmail.pl HTTP/1.0
    with a blank UserAgent and just my domain name as the referer.

    See http://www.thanerd.net/logs/Block.alestra.net.mx.txt for details.
    (Authorization required. Request currently require sending me an e-mail. I’ll make the process automatized soon)

  3. I have tried to compalin to Alestra in Mexico about these wretched IP addresses

    148.244.150.58
    148.244.150.57

    in the past and never had any response from them.

    Does anyone know any worthwhile escalation procedure within their US parent company ATT ?

  4. Administrator says:

    I’ve tried complaining as well. Nothing. I was hoping we could get someone to do it in Spanish?

    If nothing helps, I guess speaking the only language an ISP understands is the way. Heavy duty blocks. Just, making that happen could be a problem.

  5. My .htaccess looks like this at the moment:

    Deny from 148.244.150.52
    Deny from 148.244.150.57
    Deny from 148.244.150.58
    Deny from 207.248.240.118
    Deny from 207.248.240.119
    Deny from 210.128.142.42
    Deny from 210.173.179.77

    Anyone else?

  6. [...] 28.142.42 210.173.179.77 Adressene er gjengangere på bekkelund.net og blir blant annet omtalt på anti-spam-nettsteder. Jeg vil følge opp denne posten med en WordPress-spesifik [...]

  7. Kessy M. says:

    Hi,
    Ramadu (a client of mine) have had also lots of spam entries in his guestbook that he just wanted me to delete. They are coming from this computer:
    host:148-244-150-52.block.alestra.net.mx

    What can I do to block this guy to enter the guestbook again. Is there any way? Or whatelse could be done to keep him/her away to add more spam….?
    Thanks for your help

  8. Administrator says:

    Hi Kessy,
    You need to block bothersome IP numbers in your .htaccess file. That file could be placed in the guestbook directory.

    Hopefully you can also put the script on premoderated status. That way you’d have to go in and approve messages. But it beats having a spammed guestbook. Because the more spam, the more spam…

    I usually get only spam messages in my own guestbook. So today I got one that didn’t seem spammy. Until I logged in and saw the IP number. It was that Alestra proxy. So I won’t approve that one either. It might be an attempt to see if I moderate my guestbook at all. If that message gets through, then the guestbook isn’t abandoned. Something like that?

    Anyway, search google for htaccess, and you’ll get the help you need.

  9. Chris says:

    hi, I really hat spam like u, well I see the problem with Alestra from Mexico, maybe I can help you, i´m from Mexico so I can talk with them in spanish, just let me know what ip´s (updated ones) are spaming, you can contact me at (chris at ligo. cc)

  10. [...] ico offered to talk to Alestra about their proxies that have been misused by spammers in a comment on this post yesterday. I haven’t seen the Alestra proxies used much latel [...]

Leave a Reply