Netsphere domain parking

I caught the jaja-jak-globusy.com domain referrer spammed on two of my sites. Turns out the domain is part of the Netsphere domain parking program, and uses Adsense for domainpark. BTW, Netsphere appears to be a closed program. No sign of it in Google.

Problem is, the pages look undistinguishable from Adsense scraper pages. They have a search function that puts keywords into the URL, which means relevant Adsense ads will be returned.

The server is full of such domains. I don’t know exactly how many, because webhosting.info refused to return any results, and whois.sc was struggling for a long time too, before reporting 389526 websites. A significant portion of those belong to the spammer, as far as I can tell.

And they’re referrer spamming a domain that was bought June 9th! It probably was previously owned, though.

Guys, am I the only one who thinks this looks awfully fishy?

6 Responses to “Netsphere domain parking”

  1. Johannes Says:

    They have been costing me lots of clicks. In the last 14 days 1604 on cnnames.net and 39 on indomains.net

    I’m wondering who is charging me for these clicks. ( we have accounts at all the major PPC providers)

    I reported the case to google.

    Any idea what’s going on?

    Regards
    Johannes

  2. Administrator Says:

    They use Google Adsense, which means you’re charged through Adwords.

    You’ll need to check your own logs for referrers, to find out exactly where those clicks are coming from. Once you find out, you can start to look for patterns.

    Suspicious activity includes repeated clicks from one or more IP numbers, clicks from IP numbers that happen to be open proxies. And many clicks from one domain or a group of domains.

    Since that jaja thing has been extensively spammed, it would stand to reason you’d get a lot of clicks from there, because those pages are usually designed to be hard to get out of except if you click on a link. There are many clueless people who don’t know how to get out of a window, except by clicking on another link.

  3. spamfuxor Says:

    Also being discussed over at digitalpoint -> http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=22832

    Some quotes taken from your wiki, useful information on these bunch of spammers

  4. Spam Huntress » Blog Archive » Discussion about jaja-jak-globusy.com Says:

    […] main spamvertized by Manila Industries. Thanks to spamfuxor for notifying me in a comment on this post. This entry was posted on Thurs […]

  5. Spam Huntress » Blog Archive » Scating on the edge Says:

    […] my 10mb b/w to crawl the pages. Thanx, Admans. ———- Commenting on “Netsphere domain parking” I have been in discussion at the digitalpoint thread. T […]

  6. Dennis McCooe Says:

    We recently had success in a domain name dispute with Manila Industries. After we filed a UDRP complaint with NAF, Manila Industries agreed to voluntarily transfer the domain name to our client. During the course of investigation, we learned that Manila has over a 500,000 domain names which they use to generate revenue.

    We would be pleased assist others in their dealings with Manila.

    Best regards, Dennis

    Dennis P. McCooe,
    Blank Rome LLP,
    One Logan Sq, 130 N 18th St,
    Philadelphia, PA 19103

    Phone: (215)569-5580 | Fax: (215)832-5580 Email: mccooe@blankrome.com

Leave a Reply