Referrer spamming for everyone?
I found a link in my referrer stats today and checked it out. It was a project page for an Indian company. Sort of a resume.
chrisranjana.com/projects-showcase.html
The referrer came in from 70.85.237.66. Guess what? That’s their IP number on The Planet.
I guess an example needs to be set. Try referrer spamming, just once, and kiss your Google standing goodbye!
August 26th, 2005 at 2:06 am
soo… if i just came from my emoticon site….would I get banned too?
August 26th, 2005 at 7:46 am
If you’re coming in by clicking on a link on another site, then that site will not get banned.
August 26th, 2005 at 5:22 pm
I caught this one on of my sites the other day. Referrer spam had been kind of quiet for me, but it’s started back up recently. One other site I hadn’t checked the stats on for a while was getting hammered with poker/credit/casino referrals.
August 27th, 2005 at 7:45 am
My website is and has been “hammered” for a long while now by just that: referrer spam, but from the same poker/credit/casino/realestate sites that all appear as false spammer sites (which many resolve to 64.4.195.62 but not the referrers).
Any ideas? I’ve grown very weary of blocking the ongoing IPAs from the many referrers (the worst repeat offenders now blocked but the hammering continues now from as much as 300-400 other IPAs daily).
August 29th, 2005 at 3:03 pm
[I guess an example needs to be set. Try referrer spamming, just once, and kiss your Google standing goodbye! ]
Why should an example be set - why should ONE person be used as a symbol - the ultimate answer would be to improve technology to filter-out
any positive effects from so-called referrer SPAM.
Also, hopefully - the ENTIRE domain does not suffer - just the referrer page - because that DEPRIVES searchers of information - in other words: the entire INFORMATION should no suffer because of tactics.
Unfortunately - some link exhanges, or pages - where CGI redirects are used could be forced “Algorithmically” under that category
August 30th, 2005 at 7:33 am
That site isn’t the only one reported to Google - by me and others. It was set forth as an example of how stupid it is to referrer spam. Incidentally, I sent the guy an e-mail. No response.
And for the record, Google’s policy is to blacklist the entire domain, except in the case of say Geocities, where there are a few (usually VERY few) spammy sites, and the rest are legit.
But one domain, with pages belonging to the same person. Instant ban if one page is spamvertized and caught by someone who reports to Google.
August 30th, 2005 at 2:10 pm
This recent study might disagree with the above statement about Geocities
http://software.silicon.com/malware/0,3800003100,39151741,00.htm
* * * * Also it is important to be aware that a domain could belong to a Hosting company with many different Webmasters forced to use a sub-directory for their hosting (e.g low cost and free hosting) * * *
Google should re-evaluate its policy - and go the extra distance of being fair - you are dealing with PEOPLE - policies have to reflect HUMANENESS
BTW:
Read this about Google itself using Javascript redirects - are other guanteed that using this tactic - even for the same reasons as Google - would NOT get them banned??
http://mboffin.com/post.aspx?id=1830
August 30th, 2005 at 3:48 pm
ALL free services get targeted by spammers. Geocities seem to have a more effective abuse department than some, though.
Google should not re-evaluate their policy. They’re aware of free sites etc. And if a webmaster uses a bad neighborhood that isn’t easily identifiable as belonging to several people, then that’s not due diligence on their part.
And as for the Google redirect. It’s irritating, but I was more surprised it didn’t happen before.