Chem

Someone from 69.50.165.186 created a new page named Chem on another wiki I maintain. The page had one word: Hello.

I believe it’s a test to see how well maintained wikis are. Remove that page. I may be used to enter spam later on.

The IP address is on Atrivo/Intercage. The mailserver identifies itself as sysguardian.com, which is on that same IP address, and allegedly owned by a Max Tiper.

The domain name was registered at ESThost. I don’t have to tell you guys that the chances this is a spammer is overwhelmingly obvious?

On other wikis, the text has been different, and the poster’s command of English seems poor. Some sentences are in Russian without the cyrrilic alphabet.

On one wiki, I found this text:

Dear site owner! If my pages will be deleted your site will be deleted too. If you have any questions please contact me: no.content.spam@gmail.com Sorry for intrusion.

When searching for that, I find even more instances of this pointless wiki editor, planting Chem pages. I see a similar IP address connected to some edits that Richard’s WikiMinion subsequently cleaned:
69.50.182.10
193.22.84.7 is also connected with that sentence. Black Sea TV Company in the Ukraine…

The Chongqed regulars has been discussing this one quite a while ago, but this was the first time I’d come across him. The interesting part here is that they’ve named him the HyipInvestment spammer. HYIP is a term occurring on sysguardian. I’d be interested in some info on why he was given that name. Guys?

2 Responses to “Chem”

  1. Joe Says:

    It looks like RichardP named him. Our naming scheme isn’t nearly as complicated or thought out as yours. We often just go by their most prominantly spammed domain. In this case the page he created on the wiki he was discovered was named HyipInvestment.

  2. RichardP Says:

    I named him that because the very first page that WikiMinion encountered that was created by the spammer discussed on Chongqed was a page named “HyIpInvestment”. Here is an early sample:

    h*tp://wiki.personaltelco.net/index.cgi/HyipInvestment?action=recall&date=1110192192

    A bug in the above wiki caused the wiki to lose most of the “Dear site owner!” comments attatched the earlier edits of that page, but trust me, they used to be there. He went on to create pages by that name, and many others, on a couple of MoinMoin wikis back in March.

    With regards to “Chem”, WikiMinion has deleted a couple of those (as well as “Chemp”). I don’t know what is up with them.

Leave a Reply