Hire a freelancer

I got ONE referrer in my log that looked fairly clean.

multipointlocks.co.uk

No link back to me, so I investigated further.

Turns out the owner has hired a freelancer for SEO and other things, from one of those freelancer coding sites. I suppose the hired help is a blackhat.

I’ve notified the owner of the site. I’m sitting there with the finger over the trigger of reporting that domain to Google for blacklisting.

Why am I even talking about this? Do NOT hire freelancers to do SEO for your valuable domains, without knowing what they’re doing. If they talk about link building, you need to know EXACTLY what they’re doing. No linkspam of any sort, or you may find me on a cranky or bored day, where I report everything I find for blacklisting on Google.

And the blackhat SEO, oh excuse me, spammer?

67.19.96.34
34.67-19-96.reverse.theplanet.com

An IIS-6 server that has a history of spamming, at least since July 24.
There’s one active site on there that I can find: shaadioffice.com

Whois:
Citycircles International asim@asimbaig.com
186-8120 #2 Road Suite 328
Richmond, BC V7C 5J8
Richmond, BC V7C 5J8, BC V7C 5J8
Canada
+604.5372339
Fax- +604.5372339

However, that IP number spammed for this site:

indianelite.com

Whois:
indianelite
Ray, Ajit [AA-402]
11111111
calcutta, Westbengal 700107, IN
Phone: 1111111111111111
Email: webmaster@indianelite.com

The guy who owns that domain also put his e-mail address on other forum comment spam runs from that IP address.

6 Responses to “Hire a freelancer”

  1. Dirk says:

    Hmm, indianelite.com? That rings a bell …

    59.92.34.112 - - [18/Sep/2005:09:28:01 -0400] “GET /index.php HTTP/1.1″ 200 46180 “http://www.indianelite.com” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows 98)”
    61.11.91.151 - - [18/Sep/2005:12:35:22 -0400] “GET /index.php HTTP/1.1″ 200 46551 “http://www.indianelite.com” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows 98)”

    Minor case of referrer spam - only those 2 requests in all of September.

  2. Since Matt Cutts reads this Blog - Google may “know” eventually -

    But, that was good of you to NOT to report that domain,
    those people are trying to earn a living - and it IS a quality site, which may in fact be relevant to surfers.

    BTW:
    If you do a search for that Domain as a term - there are other blogs and sites that reflect that link. Some Interesting SERPs!

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&c2coff=1&q=%22www.multipointlocks.co.uk%22

  3. Administrator says:

    SEW, the last word isnt’ said on that one. It doesn’t really matter to me if it’s a quality site, if they willingly spam me.

  4. John David Galt says:

    Why report spammers to Google? In my experience Google doesn’t care about net abuse, and indeed facilitates it by keeping Usenet postings available forever on groups.google.com.

  5. Sam says:

    I am an internet programmer - I write internet business software for a living. I just had a customer report that they found my software being sold on another site for half the price and asked me why.

    Turns out it was a pirate copy of my software - it had had the name removed, and the guy who was selling it bought it from a programmer that claimed it was his own work - the programmer? IndianElite.

    So not only do they apparently spam a lot, but they also sell pirate software and try and pass it off as their own work.

  6. Bags says:

    I was also sold a pirate version of software from indianelite. they claimed an “ajax cart” to be their own “proprietary shopping cart software”, only to realize later it is cs-cart and now cs-cart wants to be paid and rightly so. now i cannot get any response from indianelite.com
    do not do business with them, i got ripped off and so will you

Leave a Reply