Fortunecity ignorant about spam
I had a rash of comment spam on annelisabeth from a spammer using subdomains on v3.com’s service. So like any responsible spam hunter, I went in search of an abuse address.
None could be found on their website. There was no way to contact them unless you were a customer, or wanted to contact them for a sales question. And when I broke down and used that sales option (for lack of a better way), the script DOESN’T WORK! It leads to answerhelp.com, and times out.
There IS an abuse form on FortuneCity, but few would go far enough to find it:
http://www.fortunecity.com/contact-abuse.shtml
Wouldn’t you know, it times out too. OK, here’s what I was planning on sending them, verbatim:
There’s no abuse contact anywhere on the v3.com site, and it’s sorely needed, since spammers use lots of subdomains from your service (seeing as v3.com is your service).
Here’s an example:
You need to remove ALL subdomains currently redirecting to URL’s starting with:
http://www.searchmeup.com/search.php?aid=34671
Please get back to me on this. I think it’s scandalous that there’s no easy way to report spammer sites.
I got ticked off enough I reported on it:
http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/08/fortunecity-ignorous-about-spam/
————–
In the post below I was talking about the ESThost spambot. That spammer uses v3.com subdomains, and I’ve asked FortuneCity to deactivate ALL subdomains redirecting to that affiliate URL… Let’s see if they wake up.
[...] « Intercage still not taking their medicine Fortunecit [...]
I’m being hit by this spammer as well (in the form of referer spam), approx 40,000 hits with fake referers today alone.
There is an abuse form on the V3 site, took me ages to find though. But then again, for 50+ subdomains to report that form is useless, so I haven’t bothered. Yet.
My blogs got hit really hard by these guys (bad enough to get my accounts temporarily disabled by my hosting company till they could sort out the mess, which amounted to an inadvertant DDoS). I followed the link you provided and filled the abuse form. Did the same on V3.com.
It took two days, but I got a note from Brian at FortuneCity saying that he had disabled 121 subdomains. And not only are the ones I sent to him down, the latest hits on my logs show that new ones dealing with drugs spam at V3 have been suspended too.
My complaints to Fortunecity / V3 also went unanswered, but others have reported success, e.g. with the current wave of drugs/pills referrer spam.