Invisible wiki spammer hits again

My “other” wiki got a visit from our invisible wiki spammer. He uses tags that make his spam invisible on Mediawiki. And then he adds one or more edits afterwards, often just adding a few blank lines. Sometimes he removes the content of the pages.

I don’t know if the page he spammed is someone else’s page (ie he’s still experimenting), or if this is an actual spam. The spammed pages are identical in syntax to the Disney spam before, and goes to the coolhost.biz domain. It’s on a zedo domain parking system.

Mediawiki owners, add that domain to your blacklist, or you may have to clean up after this spammer.

These IP addresses were involved:

24.148.43.54
64.168.100.7
66.61.58.31
66.188.130.109
67.80.191.127
67.160.229.235
67.170.199.253
68.5.163.13
68.23.184.40
68.23.189.107
68.75.169.94
68.198.157.71
68.205.11.49
68.221.109.36
69.112.249.223
69.146.19.127
69.211.99.233
69.253.243.193
70.250.194.196
71.130.59.182
71.192.177.5
72.224.16.4
83.17.52.210
83.83.122.12
216.165.247.195

These IP numbers appear to be regular home computers? They might be part of a botnet.

I found another user of these numbers:
66.188.130.109
67.80.191.127
216.165.247.195

He uses a subdomain on lamer.la (it’s been nulled), and one on ehttp.cc. Those COULD be two different spammers. Doing guestbook spam.

I checked my logs, and noticed that the referrers were faked. Most were from my own site, but I caught a few others. One looked like this:
“developers.feedster.com”

User agent was a pretty standard:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)

One Response to “Invisible wiki spammer hits again”

  1. Latisha says:

    This guy attempted to spam my blog today. Exact same MO. Found this site by googling one of the IP’s he used.

    IP’s are
    69.0.36.98
    71.72.178.76
    71.139.183.178
    67.80.191.127
    12.214.228.166
    70.27.17.90
    69.226.212.164

    most of them look like cable modem ip’s & the user agent is the same

    site our friend tried to comment spam is funnyhost.com
    funnyhost.com is an alias for wc.traffic.puredns.com.
    wc.traffic.puredns.com is an alias for wc.funnel.revenuedirect.com.akadns.net.
    wc.funnel.revenuedirect.com.akadns.net has address 66.150.161.58
    wc.funnel.revenuedirect.com.akadns.net has address 69.25.47.165

    looks like Google has already banned this site.

    email likely faked but came from udaff.com - 81.176.66.242

    stupid spammer didn’t get far - my blog is on full moderate

    thanks for keeping up this blog & wiki!

Leave a Reply