<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!-- generator="wordpress/2.0.7" -->
<rss version="2.0" 
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Comment spam tests</title>
	<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/</link>
	<description>Just another WordPress weblog</description>
	<pubDate>Fri, 25 Jul 2008 17:54:19 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.0.7</generator>

	<item>
		<title>by: Joe</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1664</link>
		<pubDate>Thu, 27 Oct 2005 14:15:09 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1664</guid>
					<description>Manni figured out what the &lt;i&gt;"I love your site..."&lt;/i&gt; spammer was doing on our wiki.  He was showing his stupidity of course.  He is using the same method for spamming guestbooks as he is for spamming wikis.

See the Oct 12 comment here:
http://www.bd4d.com/blog/2005/04/17/getting-away-from-the-computer/

He is sending his link as the webpage field which our wiki totally ignored.  Manni has corrected that so now his spam will be blocked.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Manni figured out what the <i>&#8220;I love your site&#8230;&#8221;</i> spammer was doing on our wiki.  He was showing his stupidity of course.  He is using the same method for spamming guestbooks as he is for spamming wikis.</p>
<p>See the Oct 12 comment here:<br />
<a href="http://www.bd4d.com/blog/2005/04/17/getting-away-from-the-computer/" rel="nofollow">http://www.bd4d.com/blog/2005/04/17/getting-away-from-the-computer/</a></p>
<p>He is sending his link as the webpage field which our wiki totally ignored.  Manni has corrected that so now his spam will be blocked.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Joe</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1646</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Oct 2005 09:28:20 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1646</guid>
					<description>The numbers could be nothing more than a way to randomize the message against filters.  Email spammers used to do that for a while.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The numbers could be nothing more than a way to randomize the message against filters.  Email spammers used to do that for a while.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Administrator</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1644</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Oct 2005 08:23:51 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1644</guid>
					<description>I think the number is a counter number. New number per blog or per comment. Which means searching for it would be totally useless.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I think the number is a counter number. New number per blog or per comment. Which means searching for it would be totally useless.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: seo black &#38; white</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1642</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Oct 2005 06:53:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1642</guid>
					<description>I think that all of thouse number are possibly a magic numbers that will be used to lookup backlinks appeared... Due to the fact backlinks list that google shows is limited and not up to date it is not so easy for webspamers to analyze the result of spam. Another possible reason comes to my mind is that this is just a quality test of blog targets list they obtained somewhere. If number will appear - this is a sign that the target is good and also a knowledge where backlinks will appear at the next try...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I think that all of thouse number are possibly a magic numbers that will be used to lookup backlinks appeared&#8230; Due to the fact backlinks list that google shows is limited and not up to date it is not so easy for webspamers to analyze the result of spam. Another possible reason comes to my mind is that this is just a quality test of blog targets list they obtained somewhere. If number will appear - this is a sign that the target is good and also a knowledge where backlinks will appear at the next try&#8230;
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Joe</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1641</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Oct 2005 01:21:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1641</guid>
					<description>That seems like a very good explanation.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>That seems like a very good explanation.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Administrator</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1638</link>
		<pubDate>Sun, 23 Oct 2005 22:50:47 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1638</guid>
					<description>I think it's a sobriety test. See which bloggers are astute enough to figure out it's done by spammers even though it looks legit on many levels. These things just never look legit on ALL levels!

Next step might be to Google those sentences and comment spam the posts they got the comments to stick on. With more and more blogs having premoderation, that makes sense.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I think it&#8217;s a sobriety test. See which bloggers are astute enough to figure out it&#8217;s done by spammers even though it looks legit on many levels. These things just never look legit on ALL levels!</p>
<p>Next step might be to Google those sentences and comment spam the posts they got the comments to stick on. With more and more blogs having premoderation, that makes sense.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Joe</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1636</link>
		<pubDate>Sun, 23 Oct 2005 22:45:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1636</guid>
					<description>On our wiki we keep getting stuff with no link like:

&lt;i&gt;"I love your site and find it to be a wonderful resource. Thank you for taking the time to put it all together."&lt;/i&gt;

Mostly these appear on my &lt;a href="http://wiki.chongqed.org//JoesTempSpamHolder4" rel="nofollow"&gt;honeypot&lt;/a&gt; pages.

I can't decide if it is a spammer who doesn't know what they are doing or he is just trying bug us.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>On our wiki we keep getting stuff with no link like:</p>
<p><i>&#8220;I love your site and find it to be a wonderful resource. Thank you for taking the time to put it all together.&#8221;</i></p>
<p>Mostly these appear on my <a href="http://wiki.chongqed.org//JoesTempSpamHolder4" rel="nofollow">honeypot</a> pages.</p>
<p>I can&#8217;t decide if it is a spammer who doesn&#8217;t know what they are doing or he is just trying bug us.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: David Phillips (TweezerMan)</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1631</link>
		<pubDate>Sun, 23 Oct 2005 13:03:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2005/10/23/comment-spam-tests/#comment-1631</guid>
					<description>I got one of those too, back on the 18th.  Different number at the beginning (108260), same exact text, from IP address &lt;a href="http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/banned.ch?ip=195.169.0.0/16" rel="nofollow"&gt;195.169.149.213&lt;/a&gt;.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I got one of those too, back on the 18th.  Different number at the beginning (108260), same exact text, from IP address <a href="http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/banned.ch?ip=195.169.0.0/16" rel="nofollow">195.169.149.213</a>.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
</channel>
</rss>
