Update October 15:
Even newer: I sent a complaint about the bots to Linford at Spamhaus. His team had already detected the same bots (I was told they normally toss submissions, though). Here are the listings:
69.31.76.134/32
70.86.174.58/32
70.86.175.202/32
70.86.175.162/32
69.67.65.18/32
69.67.65.14/32
69.67.65.12/32
67.159.22.0/24 (there’s even a comment: Dirty block: FDC needs to step up and deal with abusers)
I got that list off the SBL Latest Listings. I’ve been obsessively monitoring it today… What’s also interesting is that one IP block is linked to a ROKSO spammer named Michael Lindsay.
Judging from data I found today, it looks as though the FDCserver IP numbers were from a company running an IRC net, the blazin-irc.net. They own the C-block those IP numbers were coming from (according to rwhois at fdcservers, that spamhaus found). But something’s fishy. The pages don’t appear to have been updated in quite a while, and there are few links to it. When Searchirc last indexed it, there were 282 users in 10 channels. Certainly not enough to warrant a whole C-block? 67.159.22.0/24.
OK, I heard back from the owner of the IRC servers. He at one time had the whole C-block, but right now has the following:
67.159.22.2 - 67.159.22.84
67.159.22.198 - 67.159.22.224
67.159.23.x
In other words, he does not control the IP numbers involved in the spamming.
FDC then reassigned the IP numbers to another customer, but hasn’t updated the rwhois.
—————
I came up close and personal to a netstat during a spamrun misusing a webserver. And no, I won’t tell you any details about that server (where it is, who owns it), other than that it was a windows2000 server, and not exactly patched at that moment in time (no, I didn’t set it up, nor maintain it!).
I saw several port numbers used by the bad guys:
22413
1029
and finally, a LOT of action on port
17349
Update: I found trojans on the machine that could allow the badguys to connect to any port. So those may not be ports that need to be closed in particular.
And the bad guys were:
67.159.22.187 (fdcservers.net - repeat offenders, and Spamhaus record)
67.159.22.188 (and look at the rwhois record for this C-block)
67.159.22.189 (oh, brand new Spamhaus block. Maybe from my complaint?)
67.159.22.191
67.159.22.192
67.159.22.193
67.159.22.194
67.159.22.195
67.159.22.196
69.31.76.134 (already nulled)
69.67.65.12 (new Spamhaus listing today)
69.67.65.14
69.67.65.18
69.50.160.178 (already nulled)
69.50.160.179 (already nulled)
69.50.160.180 (already nulled)
70.86.175.162
70.86.175.202
70.86.174.58
204.11.98.2
What’s interesting, is that (possibly due to my interactions with Russell before. When does that guy sleep anyway?), Intercage were the most responsive. I didn’t even get a response from The Planet, nor any of the others.
OK, what happened was, the bad guys were connecting to the server, and the server was sending spam out every which way. Disabling the SMTP service wasn’t easy. It was so busy it wasn’t stoppable. But setting it to be disabled on startup, and then restarting the server fixed it. After that, it no longer used “our” mail servers to send out spam. But it sent directly to end users through the web server, until we got that last port number blocked in our firewall.
The first warning you get, unless you have proper monitoring in place, would be when users call you to complain that their mails haven’t reached the recipients. There’s a queue in the mailserver because of all the mail. The queue can jump from say a 100 or less in the queue to around 5000 in a short while.
Don’t forget to remove as much spam from the queue and retry queue of your mail servers as well.
I’d appreciate heads up about the particular hole they crawled through. And some feedback from other server admins. And some action from the webhosts!!!!