<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!-- generator="wordpress/2.0.7" -->
<rss version="2.0" 
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Tarred with the same brush</title>
	<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/</link>
	<description>Just another WordPress weblog</description>
	<pubDate>Fri, 25 Jul 2008 17:50:20 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.0.7</generator>

	<item>
		<title>by: Administrator</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-20335</link>
		<pubDate>Sat, 24 Jun 2006 09:43:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-20335</guid>
					<description>Finding the corresponding IP address when using phpBB isn't easy, but it's doable. Most likely you'll find they use multiple IP addresses, but you could try running it down and blocking IP addresses.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Finding the corresponding IP address when using phpBB isn&#8217;t easy, but it&#8217;s doable. Most likely you&#8217;ll find they use multiple IP addresses, but you could try running it down and blocking IP addresses.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Diannah Morgan</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-20310</link>
		<pubDate>Sat, 24 Jun 2006 06:49:21 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-20310</guid>
					<description>Hi,

I'm new at this tracking thing.

I'm having trouble with a guestbook type spammer that is not a bot.
At least I don't think so as I have in place the graphic character type authentication
active on the site.
Once or twice a day they register as a user always leaving a link back to
a Pilosoft held IP addr.   It's always some kind of pills.

I'm saving up approximate times and names hoping to troll through the logs and find a common IP source.   I'm I crazy?   Is this how it's done?

Can you give me any hints on what I need to do.
We're running a phpbbs.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi,</p>
<p>I&#8217;m new at this tracking thing.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m having trouble with a guestbook type spammer that is not a bot.<br />
At least I don&#8217;t think so as I have in place the graphic character type authentication<br />
active on the site.<br />
Once or twice a day they register as a user always leaving a link back to<br />
a Pilosoft held IP addr.   It&#8217;s always some kind of pills.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m saving up approximate times and names hoping to troll through the logs and find a common IP source.   I&#8217;m I crazy?   Is this how it&#8217;s done?</p>
<p>Can you give me any hints on what I need to do.<br />
We&#8217;re running a phpbbs.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Michael Pollitt</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-5676</link>
		<pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 07:34:20 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-5676</guid>
					<description>Which IP did he use, Ellen? Please e-mail me or post it here. This spammer remains very active in guestbook spamming using my details - read my blog for more info.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Which IP did he use, Ellen? Please e-mail me or post it here. This spammer remains very active in guestbook spamming using my details - read my blog for more info.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Ellen R. Ashard</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-5627</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 03 Apr 2006 19:56:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-5627</guid>
					<description>Caught the IP today trying to spam our phpBB forum. So I guess it's not only guest books he's after. Can't give any info on which site he tried to spam, of course. Just using the old forum spammer way of trying to do some automated registration, but he failed. Anyway, he indeed is still at it.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Caught the IP today trying to spam our phpBB forum. So I guess it&#8217;s not only guest books he&#8217;s after. Can&#8217;t give any info on which site he tried to spam, of course. Just using the old forum spammer way of trying to do some automated registration, but he failed. Anyway, he indeed is still at it.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Michael Pollitt</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-5060</link>
		<pubDate>Tue, 21 Mar 2006 14:42:04 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-5060</guid>
					<description>He's back - search-pharmacy-online.com this time - but using the same names (including mine) as before for spamming. More details in my blog. If anybody spots the spammer's IP in the guestbooks (I've not seen it so far), please let me know. I just reported the search-pharmacy site to EV1.  The other site from the previous spam run, 1-800-pills.com, is now showing an empty directory list.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>He&#8217;s back - search-pharmacy-online.com this time - but using the same names (including mine) as before for spamming. More details in my blog. If anybody spots the spammer&#8217;s IP in the guestbooks (I&#8217;ve not seen it so far), please let me know. I just reported the search-pharmacy site to EV1.  The other site from the previous spam run, 1-800-pills.com, is now showing an empty directory list.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Michael Pollitt</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-4470</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Mar 2006 10:03:21 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-4470</guid>
					<description>I'm pleased to report that following complaints to WV Fiber, the upstream provider to Inhoster.com, that the IP range above has been stopped from spamming. The 1-800.pills.com web site has moved to a US host and is currently returning a 403. I'm going to remain on this spammer's tail until I'm sure that he has stopped using other people's names for his spamming campaign.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m pleased to report that following complaints to WV Fiber, the upstream provider to Inhoster.com, that the IP range above has been stopped from spamming. The 1-800.pills.com web site has moved to a US host and is currently returning a 403. I&#8217;m going to remain on this spammer&#8217;s tail until I&#8217;m sure that he has stopped using other people&#8217;s names for his spamming campaign.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: My0</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-4121</link>
		<pubDate>Mon, 06 Mar 2006 01:14:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-4121</guid>
					<description>This is interesting, I have been dealing with irritating blog spam as well for several months.  I help maintain a high profile high trafficked blog; spam blogging  needs to be treated like mail spamming. I report it best I can to the ISPs. Not sure what affect yet if any it has had. I have reported mostly the sites they spamvertise. I know of at least 1 instance where the spamvertised website was disabled, but I do not know if that was due to complaints to ISP abuse or some other reason.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This is interesting, I have been dealing with irritating blog spam as well for several months.  I help maintain a high profile high trafficked blog; spam blogging  needs to be treated like mail spamming. I report it best I can to the ISPs. Not sure what affect yet if any it has had. I have reported mostly the sites they spamvertise. I know of at least 1 instance where the spamvertised website was disabled, but I do not know if that was due to complaints to ISP abuse or some other reason.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Ajay D'Souza</title>
		<link>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-3864</link>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Feb 2006 14:47:45 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://spamhuntress.com/2006/02/27/tarred-with-the-same-brush/#comment-3864</guid>
					<description>Thanks for the headsup on this.

This is only on guestbooks or have you faced the same on the blog as well?

Do you know of any guestbook to recommend?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Thanks for the headsup on this.</p>
<p>This is only on guestbooks or have you faced the same on the blog as well?</p>
<p>Do you know of any guestbook to recommend?
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
</channel>
</rss>
