Disclaimer: This investigation uncovered information about an outfit that might be a CAN-SPAM compliant bulk e-mailer. I consider bulk e-mail spam, but I realize there’s a distinction there in the eyes of the US law. Just bear with me when I call them spammers, in the beginning of this piece.
I checked my stats for my mailservers, and came upon a weird error message:
status=bounced (host mail.ewayecity.com[64.194.168.4] said: 550 relaying blocked, read new mail, add (munged, our mailserver IP) to forwarding or enable smtp authentication in yo (in reply to RCPT TO command))
So I checked a bit more, and noticed several domains with similar names throwing up that error message.
Turns out it’s a spammer that’s using multiple domains containing ewaye, and a host of IP numbers to send his spam. In yesterday’s log, I did a search for ewaye, and found mails had been sent from these specific IP addresses:
64.194.168.4
64.194.168.40
64.194.168.73
64.194.168.83
64.194.168.114
64.194.168.215
64.194.169.95
64.194.169.98
64.194.169.162
64.194.169.166
64.194.169.180
64.194.169.197
64.194.169.201
64.194.174.72
64.194.174.87
64.194.175.6
64.194.175.43
64.194.175.79
64.194.175.119
64.194.175.126
I also routed around my spambin, and found messages from them. Here’s some text from one of them. I’ve munged it and removed some tags to avoid it being hyperlinked:
You have received this advertisement from E Way
If you’re not happy with this email and wish to remove check this URL:
a =
xhref=3D”http://ewayecenter.com/unsub.php? (munged, our domain and address)
Also you may direct communications here:
E Way
5023 W 120th Ave., #175
Broomfield, CO 80020
I’ve also seen it written as:
My Eway
Even so, I think this is a rather new MO. I haven’t seen samples earlier than March 13 (Oops, just found one from February 20, from aMyEway.com, same address, same IP range), and I can’t see anything relating to this MO on NANAS.
Here’s one from February 21:
TheMyEway.com Dept
February 28
ewayspots.com
——–
It appears as though this spam operation is using a majority of the IP numbers assigned to bauerhosting.com in Colorado. Hmmm, interesting. The spam operation also has an address in Colorado. And the homepage is branded: e-way.com. So, it’s the same thing. Which means you can block them if you want, by blocking these ranges:
64.194.168.0 - 64.194.169.255
64.194.174.0 - 64.194.175.255
The MO is relatively consistent with bulk e-mailers. I’m seeing e-mail to two different addresses on our network. One of the addresses used here doesn’t exist. I don’t know right now if it never existed. I’d have to check that out. Update: I have checked with the owners of the domain. It’s unlikely it’s legit, because they generally use a different naming structure. On the other hand, that e-mail address has been on a lot of spam lists. Today, eway represents maybe half of the spam to that address.
The non-existent address received 6 spam attempts from this outfit in one day! The address that is operational received 13 e-mails in one day! I expect our spamfilter got some of them…
I was frustrated that I could find no information about this spammer/bulk e-mailer, so I nosed around.
e-way.com is owned by an outfit named Corporate Express Inc. And I found this on Sun’s site:
One of the applications running in
this environment is Corporate Express’ proprietary online procurement system, E-Way®.
Update:Â
According to this press release, there’s a company called eWayDirect which is also into e-marketing. Their contact info:
The company is located at 12 South Main Street, Suite 301, Norwalk, CT 06854. The phone number is (888) 655-0464. The company also has offices at 800 Salem Woods Drive, Raleigh, NC 27615.
CONTACT: eWayDirect
Wendy Marx
(203) 445-2850
wendy@marxcommunications.com