Spammer Bruce Shaw

I don’t often proclaim someone to be a spammer right out. But this is either a spammer, or he’s been revenge spammed.

Bruce C. Shaw
3765 W 4600 S
Roy, Utah 84067
US
801-731-7648

Why? I just got referrer spam for his website yourbesttrafficsource.com. You know, one of those cleverly worded websites that promises traffic to your website, and doesn’t say a word about what you ACTUALLY have to do to get that traffic. I just have to assume spamming comes into it somewhere, since he has to resort to spamvertizing his site to get that traffic, right?

IP: 65.100.197.196
User agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows 98)
- now that is most likely a fake user agent!

Heh, even the IP is from Utah, on Qwest!

And since I was nosing around, I found comment spam from the end of July.

You’ve been a very bad buy, Bruce! Let’s see how Qwest likes having a spammer for a customer.

Disclaimer: Of course, it’s possible Bruce’s neighbor got irritated and referrer spammed his site, but that’s a whole lot of maybe’s, so let’s see if Qwest agrees it’s him.

One Response to “Spammer Bruce Shaw”

  1. Vasily Pumpkin says:

    I don’t mean to sound pessimistic, but the SBL listing for Qwest doesn’t really look encouraging:
    http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/listings.lasso?isp=qwest.net
    Some ROKSO stars there as well. I reckon web spam will probably be dealt with the same passion (if any). But at least Qwest are not listed amongst the top ten spam havens, so that’s something to start with :-)

    Vasily

Leave a Reply