Manila Industries location
Manila Industries first came to my attention as a spammer. But later on it’s gotten a lot of folks riled up as an outfit that buys domains people forgot to renew. The domains are then used to earn ad income.
Today, someone left a new edit on the Manila Industries wiki page where contact info was added. I peeked at the logs, and he or she has been thinking about this for close to a week before deciding on adding that information.
Here’s the text from the wiki page:
In speaking with someone at Manila Industries named Jill, who thought I was a prospective job candidate for the legal department (with extensive trademark experience, as she requested), I was provided the following contact information.
Jill Johnson
Manila Industries
714-920-988360 Palatine 112
irvine,ca 926123845 S bristol 628
Santa Ana, CA 92704
The Santa Ana address has been seen before in whois info, but the Irvine address is new. I also checked the phone number. It’s (provided the number hasn’t been ported somewhere else) a Nextel phone registered in Anaheim.
I checked satellite images on Google maps and yellow pages listings. The Irvine address is also the location of 24-7 Radiology. There’s a residential area nearby, but I’m not quite sure what the house in question is. Looks a bit scuzzy from orbit
(Eek, that Google thing isn’t completely housebroken. Next time I searched, the arrow was somewhere else. This time it’s inside the nice gated residential area! If I search for the address, it’s the scuzzy area, and if I search for the Radiology place, it’s the nice area). The Santa Ana location has the arrow pointing at a parking lot. But I’m guessing it’s a mall, and there’s a Nextel retailer in the yellow pages with the same address.
November 9th, 2006 at 1:58 pm
I incorporated the name “carriagetown sunrooms and the same day this company manila industries claimed the name with a .com added
so far we have not been able to reach anyone in order to reclaim our name. do you know of anything we can do short of filing a lawsuit?
November 9th, 2006 at 4:44 pm
If you’re trying to get a domain name from a domain shark, you should not file a lawsuit. A Wipo arbitration is the correct legal action to take, unless you can get the domain back by legal maneuvering short of that.
October 17th, 2007 at 3:45 pm
Hey… so just so you all know… manila industries, compana llc, budgetnames.com…. all the same. These are companies that make agreements with other FRADULANT companies to use there information on the whois registry. This way the real crooks get away and the companies involved are so fly by night that no one ever catches them… bullshit