Third fake Spamcop site

I’ve written about fake Spamcop sites recently.

I found a third site:

spampatrol.org

This one is on 67.19.92.171

Whois:

Registrant Name:Jerry Hirster
Registrant Organization:Spam Patrol
Registrant Street1:1000 Cameron Woods Drive, Apex, NC 27523
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Apex
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code:27523
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+866.8260453
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email: abuse@spampatrol.org

But it’s registered on EstDomains…

And other sites on that same IP number look decidedly spammy…

One of those sites is hydrocodone-1.com. What’s interesting, is that it’s got a similar javascript redirect as the other sites. And this goes to  a php redirect script on emaxrdr.com (on 207.226.162.125) which then redirects to abusecentral.org, which we remember from my first post!

Most of these domains have whois info pointing to (fake, of course):

Josua Givash        (emaxseo@gmail.com)
5821 Reddman Road
Charlotte
North Carolina,28212
US
Tel. +866.7465632

5 Responses to “Third fake Spamcop site”

  1. Brian Says:

    Interestingly in the last two sites, I see the tag:
    meta content=”MSHTML 6.00.2900.2873″ name=”GENERATOR”

  2. Vasily Pumpkin Says:

    emaxseo @ gmail.com is Interesting. Sounds like a fork of Umax. Anyway I have no doubts that this operation is meant for data gathering. Contrary to the first site, however, this one has only name and email as mandatory fields (whilst the first had also the web address).

    Makes me wonder whether someone is preparing a Joe Job to teach Spamcops a lesson…

  3. John D Says:

    Why doesn’t it surprise me that b****y Estdomains gets a mention in this? Their advertising slogan should be “World’s #1 Spamhost”.

  4. Vasily Pumpkin Says:

    John,
    I think it’s related to their tolerance in regard to obviously falsified whois info :-) . An even more interesting question however would be why ICANN still considers Estdomains as acceptable registrar, though they obviously couldn’t care less about their (ICANN’s) guidelines.

  5. ChillyCool Web Digger » Blog Archiv » Fake Spamcop sites Says:

    […] Third fake Spamcop site […]

Leave a Reply