Third fake Spamcop site
I’ve written about fake Spamcop sites recently.
I found a third site:
spampatrol.org
This one is on 67.19.92.171
Whois:
Registrant Name:Jerry Hirster
Registrant Organization:Spam Patrol
Registrant Street1:1000 Cameron Woods Drive, Apex, NC 27523
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Apex
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code:27523
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+866.8260453
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email: abuse@spampatrol.org
But it’s registered on EstDomains…
And other sites on that same IP number look decidedly spammy…
One of those sites is hydrocodone-1.com. What’s interesting, is that it’s got a similar javascript redirect as the other sites. And this goes to a php redirect script on emaxrdr.com (on 207.226.162.125) which then redirects to abusecentral.org, which we remember from my first post!
Most of these domains have whois info pointing to (fake, of course):
Josua Givash (emaxseo@gmail.com)
5821 Reddman Road
Charlotte
North Carolina,28212
US
Tel. +866.7465632
August 26th, 2006 at 11:42 am
Interestingly in the last two sites, I see the tag:
meta content=”MSHTML 6.00.2900.2873″ name=”GENERATOR”
August 26th, 2006 at 6:36 pm
emaxseo @ gmail.com is Interesting. Sounds like a fork of Umax. Anyway I have no doubts that this operation is meant for data gathering. Contrary to the first site, however, this one has only name and email as mandatory fields (whilst the first had also the web address).
Makes me wonder whether someone is preparing a Joe Job to teach Spamcops a lesson…
August 28th, 2006 at 12:05 pm
Why doesn’t it surprise me that b****y Estdomains gets a mention in this? Their advertising slogan should be “World’s #1 Spamhost”.
August 28th, 2006 at 5:09 pm
John,
. An even more interesting question however would be why ICANN still considers Estdomains as acceptable registrar, though they obviously couldn’t care less about their (ICANN’s) guidelines.
I think it’s related to their tolerance in regard to obviously falsified whois info
January 10th, 2007 at 11:12 am
[…] Third fake Spamcop site […]