Church site has rogue file?

The website of the Western Boulevard Presbyterian Church in Raleigh, has what appears to be a rogue file on their website

A file that was uploaded September 4, 2006:

http://wbpresbyterian.org/contact/read.php

I’ve received several pieces of comment spam referencing that file and certain keywords. When those keywords are attached, the file serves as a spammy redirect.

There’s no e-mail address available to notify the church, so I called them. Twice. The office administrator hung up on me. Twice. I have no idea what to think, except at the very least, her handling of the situation was very rude. I managed to explain the situation roughly, but didn’t get far enough to tell her what the file was.

I wasn’t planning on making this public, but the behavior I encountered was bizarre enough, I just have to get some answers.

Did she think I was crank calling? Did she know about it already? If so, why’s the file still there?

And did the spammers hack their site?

Here’s what I know about the spammers:

The spammers are using proxies instead of spambots.

The javascript redirect goes through this site:

more777.info

And it redirects to bettingcasinosite.com. Both sites have basically the same whois:

Registrant:
N/A
Michael (info@asiawood.ru)
Lenina, 6
Kurgan
null,640000
RU
Tel. +7.9128351001

Creation Date: 12-Aug-2006
Expiration Date: 12-Aug-2007

Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.bettingcasinosite.com
ns1.bettingcasinosite.com

I found that e-mail address elsewhere on the net. Translated with Babelfish from http://wood.yondi.ru/inner_id_60400_c_firms_page_4.phtm
Export of construction lumber into the countries of Asia. Form of the activity: Wholesale trade Price- sheet the address: 640022, Kurgan region, Kurgan, Polovinskaya ul, 10a bodies: (3522) 578302 fax: (3522) 578344 e-mail: info@asiawood.ru

The payoff links are go.php on 66.230.172.114

——–

Update: I found several sites with read.php used for spammy redirect. And a mention of a version of Phorum being vulnerable to cross site scripting. That might be what happened to that church - except what was that file doing there in the first place? It didn’t appear to be in use. So how was it found?

2 Responses to “Church site has rogue file?”

  1. Spamhuntress » Blog Archive » Vizaweb and Asianwood Says:

    […] I’ve so far found three sites hosted on Vizaweb that have files on them used by one particular spammer. One I’ve termed Asiawood, and described briefly before. […]

  2. Spamsucks Says:

    Wonderful find. Search google with “read.php?q=” and you will see places like mtsa.edu and others hacked with the read.php redirect junk to a spammers search engine.
    Old west rules should apply. “Wanted dead or alive” for spammers.

Leave a Reply