Doug Petrie’s domains in spamrun

Update October 24, 2006: Doug says he never sent me those spam e-mails (duh!), so I should remove the whois info.

I’ve sent him a definition of comment spam, and asked him to tell me if he comment spammed, or if he hired someone to do SEO. We’ll see what he answers, and then I’ll see what I’ll do. Oh, and I sent him 96 pieces of spam involving his domains in a text file, so he’ll see exactly what I’m talking about.

Eh, I just realized he’ll have to come up with a heck of a good story. I checked his e-mail headers. He sent that e-mail from the same IP as the spam came from!!!!!!!

——-

Doug Petrie is known as a TV writer. But there’s another Doug Petrie, whose main claim to fame is a string of “free articles” on payday loans.

Today I got an incessant stream of comment spam from 69.116.161.80 (dyn.optonline.net)

The domains spamvertized belong to

Petrie, Doug conquerer@zerogravitycomputing.com
354 State Street
Suite 105
Hackensack, New Jersey 07601
United States
(201) 487-4424 Fax — (201) 487-4423

zerogravitycomputing.com belongs to the same guy:

petrie, doug djpzero@AOL.COM
zero gravity computing
464 CENTRAL AVE
CARLSTADT, NJ 07072-1518
US
201-896-9330

So, is Doug a spammer? Not sure…

What I can tell you, is that the domains in that spam are spread out over a lot of IP addresses. That’s a technique I’ve seen employed by another US spammer very recently. It could be an attempt to minimize all domains getting blacklisted, because of being in a bad neighborhood? Doesn’t really help if you spam them all in one comment, though… The only other reason would have to be if the owner expected a lot of traffic. But chances are these domains aren’t spread over as many servers as IP addresses…
Here’s the list of domains with IP addresses:
Name: debtconsolidationcounseling.biz
Address: 64.246.44.185

Name: debtconsolidationhomeequityloan.net
Address: 216.75.24.138

Name: debtconsolidationinformation.biz
Address: 216.75.24.136

Name: debtconsolidationloanonline.us
Address: 216.75.24.132

Name: debtconsolidationmortgageloan.us
Address: 216.75.24.131

Name: debtconsolidationorganization.biz
Address: 216.75.63.190

Name: debtconsolidationorganization.net
Address: 216.75.63.188

Name: debtconsolidationsecuredloan.biz
Address: 216.75.24.156

Name: debtconsolidationsecuredloan.net
Address: 216.75.24.155

Name: debtconsolidationsecuredloan.us
Address: 216.75.24.154

Name: debtconsolidationsolution.biz
Address: 216.75.24.153

Name: delawaredebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.24.152

Name: freecreditcarddebtconsolidation.net
Address: 216.75.24.151

Name: freecreditcarddebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.24.150

Name: freedebtconsolidationquote.biz
Address: 216.75.24.149

Name: freedebtconsolidationquote.us
Address: 216.75.24.148

Name: freedebtconsolidationservices.us
Address: 216.75.24.146

marylanddebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.24.143

Name: mbnadebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.24.142

Name: michigandebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.24.141
Name: nonprofitdebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.24.139

Name: personaldebtconsolidationloan.biz
Address: 216.75.24.136

Name: secureddebtconsolidation.biz
Address: 216.75.24.134

Name: unsecureddebtconsolidation.us
Address: 216.75.63.190

Update: I did some checking on the IP number of the spambot. It’s been in play at least since August 17, 2006 - promoting domains owned by Doug Petrie.

The domain, cashadvanceclowns.com, has this whois:

Douglas Petrie
438 Ottawa Ave
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey 07604
United States
I’ve also found promotion of poker sites on spaces live. With affiliate ID 2769220 at partypoker.com

Leave a Reply