500 gift card from Macy’s
Yep, that appears to be the latest scam.
I got a bulletin from a “friend” on MySpace today. I’ve sent him an e-mail to check if he sent it or not. I’m guessing not. No idea how this one works.
But the link you’re supposed to claim the giftcard at is
preesly.com
It redirects (in HTML) to an affiliate ID at directtrack, which (for me in Norway) eventually leads to a page where it says the offer isn’t available in my area (geotracking). That page has a poker affiliate ID redirect on it. But for those in the US, it eventually ends up on ConsumerResearchBureau.com
According to McAfee SiteAdvisor, they got mucho spam after registering on that site.
So, this is about spam, however it’s done.
Would you get a gift card from Macy’s after registering? I don’t know, and I’m not going to try and find out. I’ve got enough spam as it is.
I’ll leave out the whois for now, until I know for sure how that bulletin got sent.
Update: Just got a second bulletin from the same guy. This time he’s gushing about a Louis Vuitton bag. Yeah, right, I don’t think so. This is a GUY, not a girl. I doubt he’d willingly be seen with that thing!

Domain name this time: vdaybags.com
February 12th, 2007 at 9:06 pm
have you heard about myspace vs Richter (yeah, the ROKSO one) suit?
wise man said: if something CAN be abused it WILLl be abused
February 24th, 2007 at 8:09 pm
:mucho spam”? 2265/week for one registration is more like MACHO spam!
October 16th, 2007 at 1:45 pm
I got two identical such messages as comments on my myspace page, but from two very different people. One of them says he doesn’t know how it happened.
My _guess_: some sort of javascript trojan horse, hacking into your myspace??
That’s just a guess, though.
October 25th, 2007 at 4:35 pm
wow! same thing but the myspace user is from my town and i know her.So, i totally thought it was real. I filled out the req. and kept gettting further along until i was only still doing it b/s of how much i invested. After all the req. was finished it never gave a verification or comfirmation it was ignored. I will be contacting all of the companies, like Netflix, Gevalia, and Credit report com
October 29th, 2007 at 11:18 am
you guys all seem really clueless…. you actually emailed your friend to see if it was real???
when you are on a hacked profile it will appear to not load and will redirect you to a fake myspace login page (the last one i saw was registered to a long .cn address) then you get infected…etc etc
January 30th, 2008 at 8:24 am
i was searching around, and i found this website that kinda explains what this whole gift card crap is about.. it’s been plaiging (lol i cant spell) my profile for months. anyway its www.net-watchdog.com . i also put it in my name’s url.