Wiki-spam attack from diving-deep
Saturday, April 28th, 2007I woke up today to a quite massive attack on my wiki. Large edits to lots of pages. The links spamvertized are all to free forums, misused forums belonging to other people and various other non-hacker exploits.
So far the exploited pages all redirect to one domain:
diving-deep.net
216.255.179.196
That’s in Intercage space - they’ve been notified.
The whois is interesting, it points to Norway. The person is allegedly:
Billy Fulkerson (geojon@care2.com)
And the address and phone number points to the Neptun hotel in Haugesund, Norway. Yep, the address and phone number is legit, but I doubt it has anything to do with the spammer. The registrar is KLIK MEDIA GMBH. Remember them?
The IP numbers used for the spam run are all proxies.
The spammer is affiliate number 35vm5c with evoplus.
—————
Update:
Intercage nullrouted them, and they immediately switched to 85.255.115.213 at inhoster. Intercage is upstream, and immediately nullrouted them again, and now they’re on 212.176.41.8 which I believe is on equant.ru. Unfortunately that website is entirely in Russian, and I have trouble figuring out who to contact. Some help would be appreciated? I sent an e-mail to the contact for the IP numbers. And then I contacted the DNS provider as well. Awaiting reply.
Update May 4:
No response from either the current webhost or the DNS provider. And the spamming has started up again - two new wiki diffs on a wiki I own today.
