Is Ivan Davidchuk a spammer?
Tuesday, November 20th, 2007I don’t have the answer to that. He could be the innocent victim of a shady SEO company.
What I can tell you, is that I’ve found spam pointing to his domains as early as June this year. I got one spam comment pointing to his domains today in a guestbook that is rather spam resistant.
The spammer often uses 216.255.183.194 from Intercage to spam from. I haven’t seen any other spam from that IP so far, so I’m considering the possibility it might be used exclusively by this spammer.
Whois:
owner-organization: Tatet
owner-fname: Ivan
owner-lname: Davidchuk
owner-street: a.ja 101
owner-city: kiev
owner-zip: 02099
owner-country: UA
owner-phone: 0675024084
owner-email: istone@mail.ru
person: Ivan Davidchuk
organization: Artmam
email: istone@mail.ru
address: Borispolskaya, 9
city: Kiev
postal-code: n/a
country: UA
phone: +38.0675024084
The earliest mention I’ve found of this person is from 2001, when he offered services to search for art in Russia. That post was submitted by someone who used the same e-mail address and name as used for the whois. He also represented himself as an art supplier in 2001. Note the ICQ number. The profile page sports a picture of mr. Davidchuk.
The spam I’ve seen, ranging from June until today, generally point to bookmarking services, and the bookmarks all point to domains owned by mr Davidchuk.
Examples:
67.15.143.6:
afete.com
atagira.com
bliklist.com
limerex.com
memorexa.com
tatet.com
67.15.181.24
artmam.com
67.15.181.111
artnam.com
artvam.com
209.62.77.34
antalax.com
During the same time period I received the spam comment from this spammer, I also got a slew of porn spam comments. And since this guestbook has been virtually spam free for a long time, I’ve considered the possibility it could be the same spammer with two different campaigns. I did find a spam comment from June that combined the two different methods - spamming bookmarking pages and porn pages. The one porn domain that was spamvertized together with the bookmarking pages had a whois pattern that was similar to the current whois pattern used by the porn spammer who’s currently spamming my guestbook.
The porn spammer spams from these two IP addresses: 85.255.120.58, 216.255.179.34
Intercage has been notified.
Update: I found some accesses to the guestbook that looked like accesses from a spammer - the surfing activities of a spammer, looking to see what happened with my guestbook. On a hunch, I checked the logs on spamhuntress for the same IP numbers. Yup, the same two people had checked out the blog in the same time frame.
87.252.242.16 - from Minsk, Belarus
80.68.6.198 - from Taganrog in Russia
80.68.6.198 did some wiki spamming in 2005. 87.252.242.16 has been seen mailspamming as late as a week ago. I wouldn’t be surprised if one or both are proxies.