Fake myspace video comment
I got a comment for approval on my Myspace profile. It was posted today.
The video looked like it might contain porn. I wouldn’t approve that, but I thought, what if I’m wrong? I mean, few of the visitors to my profile would be stupid enough to post a porn video to it, and certainly not the gentleman who posted it.
So I clicked on it. It loaded normally at first, and then I noticed the page got dark, and up popped a message from Myspace Firefox saying it’s a “Suspected Web Forgery”.
Looking at it more closely, it’s pretty obvious. The URL contains Myspace in it - misspelled, and a few more letters, and it’s asking me to log in - a page that looks completely like a real Myspace page.
Clicking on “Get me out of here!” took me to Google.
But the guy who sent me that comment obviously got hacked, so somehow, the bad guys got past his defenses.
The whois and hosting is in China.
December 4th, 2007 at 9:40 am
Hi,
this is a message from your firefox. its the included phising guard.. i noticed that as well, but in german here
http://www.meinungs-blog.de/phishing-schutz-im-firefox/
This is pretty helpfull..