Letter soup spam groups on Google

I was searching Google Groups for a particular domain (sorry, can’t mention it here).

I was looking for hits in Usenet’s news.admin.net-abuse hierarchy. I did find two examples of spam e-mails.

But what I found next is what surprised me.

Apparently some spammer had at some time posted porn in the forum of this site, and then included that link in lots of spammy porn posts. Either that, or it’s just included as undisputedly “good” content.

But the kicker was where this was posted:

Letter soup groups on Google Groups. These groups were created with one goal: To serve as places to post spam. Let me give you an example:

http://groups.google.com/group/zdhwaaqb/about?hl=en

That’s the about page for the group. Notice there’s just ONE member? And only members can post? No discussions, only pages.

6 Responses to “Letter soup spam groups on Google”

  1. David Clarke Says:

    It appears google, or the spammer have taken down the referenced group now.

    Obviously, it doesn’t prevent more alphabet soup groups from being created as throwaway sites though.

  2. admin Says:

    Hmm, I guess I’ll have to clue Google in on what search term I used that the spammer had overused…

  3. admin Says:

    I checked a bit better. Looks like a lot of pages appear to exist, but once you navigate to them, you get a message saying the page doesn’t exist. Looks like Google has thrown some kind of switch. I think I’ll take the credit… ;-)

  4. Bushido Hacks Says:

    The spammers are also doing this on wikis. They are relentless!

    Some of them have ben advertizing child pornography, of which I’ve contacted the IP abuse e-mails for that one.

    I was also starting to wonder why a hospital in Norway (Rikshospitalet) was sending me this stuff. When I contacted them, they said that they identified that there was a machine in their hospital being used to transmit these messages. But their are many other machines at various academic, government, and medical institutions that are still sending these messages. I suspect a link betweeen them.

    Also, you won’t know who Malishev Andrei is would you?

  5. db Says:

    please send me spam. really.

  6. paulo sergio Says:

    hack or spam me plz

    paulosergio93@netcabo.pt
    paulosergio93@yahoo.com
    paulosergio93@clix.pt

    212.113.174.13
    195.23.128.11

Leave a Reply