Google Adwords phishing attempt

I got a phishing mail today that looked pretty believable, until I hovered the mouse pointer over the link they wanted me to go to:

h*tp://www.adwords.google.com.sessionops.cn/select/Login

I think they goofed on one thing though, it’s Adsense that pays people, and with Adwords we’re supposed to pay them!

Here’s the fake Adwords mail:

From:    “Google AdWords-noreply”
To:   
Subject:    Please Re-activate your account.
Date sent:    Sat, 24 May 2008 18:52:46 +0100

>>>———————————————————————————————–

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

We were unable to process your payment.
Your ads will be suspended soon unless we can process your payment.
To prevent your ads from being suspended, please update your payment information.

Please sign in
to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login,
and update your payment information.

>>>————————————————————————————-
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
>>>————————————————————————————-

2008 Google Adwords

3 Responses to “Google Adwords phishing attempt”

  1. JohnMu (Google) Says:

    If you receive emails like this, it would be good if you could forward them to our phishing group at phishing @ google.com as described on http://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=93198 .

    Thanks!

  2. Nick Wilsdon Says:

    Not sure they goofed on that one. I can think of a few things someone could think to do with an Adwords account in credit or even better - tied to a corporate credit card that few people check in detail. Sending all that ‘free’ traffic to your own affiliate sites for one.

  3. Faizi Says:

    I think it is the traffic they want.

Leave a Reply