Archive for October, 2008

Trackback spam on Norwegian internet magazine

Thursday, October 2nd, 2008

I discovered a spam trackback at the bottom of an article in an online Norwegian celebrity rag.

I was so stunned, because we see very little Norwegian spam. Most of it’s not even done by Norwegians, and if it is, they’re usually based outside of Norway.

The article had been entitled “DETTE ER FANTASTISK!!!”, which means “This is amazing!!!”. The link went to krematoriet.blogspot.com. The account is owned by Geir. All of this is perfect Norwegian. But that’s all that’s on that page. He didn’t want to risk the redirect going slow by adding text and images…

The blog redirects to booking.com through a tinyurl.com redirect. Code:

Oops, that redirect worked even pasted in here! Anyway, it’s a meta content with a URL and http-equiv refresh
That in turn redirects to:

http://tracking.euroads.no/system/tracking.php?sid=3&cpid=143&adid=4944&acid=532

It’s a Norwegian/Swedish/Danish ad network.

I read somewhere you won’t get accepted into the affiliate program unless you have a website. Well, here the referrer is coming from tinyurl, so this affiliate should get thrown out of the program!

And from what I’ve seen now, I’m willing to accept that this is probably a Norwegian spammer. Shame on you!