Tricky forumspam
Friday, October 20th, 2006Expect forum spam to get more and more tricky. Before soon, you might have to read the source code, or use a Firefox extension that marks links, no matter what they’re hidden behind. Here are two recent attempts to spam a forum I moderate:

This one has the spammy links hidden under the comma and period. It’s a bland enough topic it would fit into any “General discussion” subforum. I found other forums where it had slid through. On some forums, the links aren’t underlined, and would be almost impossible to catch. It’s sparked discussions on some forums, with users thinking it’s a regular post. The mark of a good spam, I suppose, and it’s also why I turn the spotlight on it - users and moderators need to be made aware of how much spam there really is on forums.

This one has the spammy link hidden behind the smiley. It’s the kind of topic you see a lot of on forums, so it would get through most moderator nets. I ran my mousepointer over the whole post, looking for spam links, which is how I found out it was spam.
Since I talked about that spam, I thought I should run it down as well. It’s a blogspot link with a very basic javascript redirect going directly to the affiliate scheme: topadult10 ID: 35875. The comma spammer also had blogspot links with basic redirects, this time going to a keyword on spammy advertising portal tissuepain.com (which was previously spamvertized directly. Google reports 17.800 pages from that domain!), which is on 64.111.207.10. That IP number might hold multiple customers of HaldexHost in Ukraine. But many domains hold the same (fake looking) whois that’s on a similar format as tissuepain. And many domains have similar topics. Not all domains are in use, though. So it’s hard to say…
Whois (probably fake) for tissuepain.com:
Harris Alexander (info@tissuepain.com)
224 East 64th Street
New York
NY,10021
US
Tel. +1.9178056791
Creation Date: 26-Mar-2005
Expiration Date: 26-Mar-2007
Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.333210.com
ns2.333210.com
I also found that the McAfee Siteadvisor was showing links from that site to other sites on adjacent IP numbers:
buy-cheap-zithromax.info - 64.111.207.11
trancemusics.com - 64.111.207.10 - 21,200 results in Google
buy-cheap-bextra.info - 64.111.207.10
zoloftcheap.com - 64.111.207.12 - 17.500 results in Google
buy-cheap-steroids.info - 64.111.207.12
On another note: I’m working on a project these days that monopolizes a lot of my creative energies, so I won’t be posting as much for a few weeks. I’ll be monitoring the site as usual.