Picking on guestbook spammers
Sunday, December 18th, 2005Guestbook spam was usually less sophisticated than blogspam. But lately they’ve caught up. I get a torrent of spam these days, and blocking IP numbers just won’t work. They’ve started using proxies there too.
So I thought I’d pick on one of them today.
I don’t know his name for sure, but I’ll include some whois info that may or may not be his.
First of all, his user agent is a mistake. It’s entered in my logs exactly like this:
“Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1″
He forgot the trailing ) in other words.
He first does a lookup of the add guestbook page, then comes back with ANOTHER IP number when it’s time to POST his comment.
I can’t say for sure if this is one spammer or several, using the same broken tool. Let’s treat them as several spammers for now, and see if we can find evidence later that they’re one and the same.
They use throwaway sites, or lookalike throwaway sites (sometimes hard to tell).
The spammers use different techniques for javascript redirection and avoiding detection.
—————
One of them uses throwaway sites, then redirects to sites he owns, that has the affiliate ID links:
malacity.com
kofit.com
both ping
212.48.153.193
and whois info gives:
Contact Name: Mihail N Suhorukov
Contact Street1: Isakovskogo st., 29
Contact City: Moscow
Contact State: Moscow
Contact Postal Code: 123181
Contact Country: RU
Contact Phone: +7 095 7266000
Contact E-mail: admin@nisku.ru
Affiliate IDs:
usapills-rx ID: 417
naturomeds ID: marvelent
searchadv ID: 44581
————
One of the “throwaways” is interesting in its own right. wgaga.com is figuring in LOTS of subdomains spamvertized on guestbooks and whatnot. And the root site has a 302 to searchmeup.com.
But what’s really interesting, is that I can’t find any spam pages owned by another spammer. I’m forced to wonder if the domain belongs to the spammer, and that he’s trying to emulate throwaway sites.
Whois:
Resourse Team
Vladimir (guron-fm@yandex.ru)
Vali Macsimova 5 flat 8
Biysk
null,659303
RU
Tel. +7.3854249022
Vladimir has apparently been in the domain biz for a while. He tried selling one in January 2005.
This particular spammer mainly uses this affiliate ID:
topsearch10 ID: 45492
————
One uses “throwaway subdomains on” two .be domains:
vacuums.be
looxe.be
they ping similar IPs:
64.111.199.185
64.111.199.188
Both are registered December 10, 2005, by a webhost/registrar:
Last Name: Hostmasters
Company Name: Nucleus bvba
Language: N
Street: Noorderlaan 133/8
Location: 2030 Antwerpen
Country: Belgium
Phone: +32.32750160
Fax: +32.32750169
Email: info@nucleus.be
I suspect it’s a whois privacy thing, and that the spammer owns the domains.
Affiliate IDs:
find.fm ID: 1524