USERAGENT
Saturday, December 1st, 2007Sometimes you just have to laugh.
I got visits from this joker November 15-27:
195.225.177.190 - - [27/Nov/2007:10:50:35 -0600] “POST /2005/04/07/trackback-run-expected/trackback/ HTTP/1.1″ 403 246 “” “USERAGENT”
195.225.176.177 - - [27/Nov/2007:11:00:40 -0600] “POST /2005/04/08/mathematics-trackbacks/trackback/ HTTP/1.1″ 403 246 “” “USERAGENT”
You should not feel bad for firewalling all of Netcathost. I see a lot of bad there, and so far no good. If you don’t agree, comment below.
195.225.176.0 - 195.225.179.255
James Friesen reports on the same bot in October.
It’s possible the bots are no more on those IP numbers, since I can’t find any newer spam from them.
If you search for one of those IP’s, you get spam with this whois, which appears fake:
Ferdinand
Ferdinad Stalevsk (ferdinand@hotfunspace.com)
8 Trinity Terrace
Weymouth
Maryland,54442
US
Tel. +1.567456765
The root of the site is a failed Wordpress install, so I’m wondering if the site really does belong to the fake whois, and that it’s not a “free subdomain”. Also, it’s registered with ESTdomains… But the same bot also spamvertized some sites on freewebs.com, and a random check found a subdomain that was yanked for abuse.
The payoff on hotfunspace is Google Adsense: pub-1388391656005128